2019-2020 Awards, News (Listowel Minor Hockey Association)

News Article
News Article Image
May 27, 2020 | Sherri Coombs | 2445 views
2019-2020 Awards
Thank you to all the Team Officials, players, parents and volunteers who participated in our 2019-2020 season.  Although it ended abruptly I believe there were still so many success achieved.  

I know some of the teams put together summaries of their seasons and announced the winners of the team awards, but we would like to share the names of all recipients from last season.
NOVICE REP Coleson Beirnes Tyse Hayter
NOVICE LL RED Blaine Metzger Jack Magee
NOVICE LL WH Parker Flewwelling Kaiden Vertulia
ATOM REP Curtis Strickler Noah Szasz
ATOM AE Avery Neabel Emerson Smith
ATOM LL RED Noah Hiemstra Owen Alexander
ATOM LL WH Mason Smith Tyler Metzger
PEE WEE REP Tate Leader                        Ayden Arent                         
PEE WEE AE Jonah Gooding Ryan Antoniadis
PEE WEE LL RED Hunter Donohue Kayden Helmka
PEE WEE LL WH Landon Boerkamp Cole Wilford
BANTAM REP Rowan Alexander Brian Darou
BANTAM AE Cooper Smith Aidan Terpstra
BANTAM LL Devin Johnston Jamari Heibein
MIDGET AE Maddox Brennan Brett Smith
 MIDGET LL      Brett Falk                      Dakota Barfoot                 

MIDGET REP - Aside from the regular team awards, there are Executive awards given to players who are  graduating from our organization.  Below are the team awards, as well as the Executive Awards
 DOUG HOTSON AWARD - the most sportsmanslike player Jacob Drager
 KEVIN BUCHANAN AWARD - the most proficient defenceman Nicholas Verbeek
 HUSTLE AWARD - the player who showed the most dedication, desire & effort Keegan Long

Congratulations to all of the above players!

Along with the Team awards, there are a few individual awards that are chosen by our members:
Coach of the Year
LMHA's 2019-2020 Coach of the Year is awarded to Brent Williams.  Leading the Bantam Rep team to a very respectable 35-15-5 record, and to game 5 of the OMHA semifinals.  Brent lead with fairness, compassion, determination, and a knowledge of the game that he shared with all his players, on and off the ice.
Congratulations Brent!

Charles Milne Award
It is my pleasure to present Pete Verbeek as this year's recipient of the Charles Milne award for his dedication over the years to hockey in general and to Listowel Minor Hockey Association specifically.  Pete has coached since his children started playing hockey at the then called Mite level and has continued each year through to Midget.  In addition to coaching Pete has always been willing to help out when asked including evaluating players for other coaches, running checking clinics and being a resource for developing programs and procedures.  Pete embodies everything you want in a volunteer for kid's sports, he's patient, fair and has a great repour with his players and their parents.  
We can't think of a better person to receive this award; congratulations Pete!

Cyclone Taylor Award
This award is presented to a graduating player that exemplifies the spirit of LMH both on the ice and in their contributions off the ice.
This year's recipient is described as a quiet leader, some who is respectful of his teammates, coaches and game officials.  He leaves nothing behind when on the ice, putting every effort into each shift and practice.  
Congratulations Sam Town; Same has spent his entire hockey career in Listowel, he has also committed his time to the game by acting a timekeeper & a timekeeper scheduler.  Sam has also spent many many years behind the scenes helping to coordinate and volunteer at the Gord Hymers Novice tournament, of which proceeds shared with LMH.

The President's Award
This is meant to recognize the person who the President feels provided the most assistance and support during the season.  This is why I am very pleased to present this award to Rod Wieringa, Listowel Minor Hockey's Town Contact.
Rod has been on the executive longer than I, and he has always presented himself with a quiet, rational presence during our meetings at our events.  He is always ready to lend an ear to members who have ideas and/or concerns, and he is very passionate about our organization and what it means to our community.
Rod has helped me lead this organization over the past couple of years in more ways than I can recall, always ready and willing to provide me with his honest, unbiased opinion.  He is a man who earns the respect of all who know him.
Thank you Rod Wieringa, Listowel Minor Hockey Town Contact and this year's recipient of the President's Award.

Thank you to Everyone, and stay safe!
Sherri Coombs
Listowel Minor Hockey President